Toe Pic!

Published March 14, 2014 by marshaz333

Hello.

Sorry for the long absence.

What long absence, you ask????

Well for those of you who haven’t noticed, I haven’t blogged since my epic fail of “7 posts in 7 days”.  Turns out 5 is my limit.

But for those of you who are regulars here (and I’m using that term loosely!), I apologize for my prolonged silence, though there are some who would count my “silence” a miracle.  Not naming names but, Dad, I’m lookin’ at you!! :-)

I have spent the last week in class for work.  It was a mapping class so I was expecting it to be all kinds of interesting but what I didn’t expect was all the hard.

I spent 2 ½ days hearing more facts about longitude and latitude than I ever cared to know.

I just don’t have room in my brain for such things.

It’s already filled up with such useful information as the lyrics to “Dead Skunk in the Middle of the Road” and the goings-on of Honey Boo-Boo and her family and who sat where and who wore what at our last family outing.

I’m just not sure I need to know that 1 rod equals 16 ½ feet.

You’d be amazed at how seldom that kind of thing comes up in my life.

So at the end of every day, the poor Mr., who is usually privy to my jovial attitude and, dare I say, hilarious quips, was met with a sharp tongue and absolutely NO humor.

I didn’t mean to.  I’m a good girl, but dag-gone it, I couldn’t seem to help it!!

{Paraphrase of an Andy Griffith line in case you missed it!}

Then low and behold there was a test.

Have you ever been given a test that you were prepared for and when you read the first question, it appeared to be written in Portuguese????

That was me!

And that ain’t all.

It was full of……you guessed it……MATH!!!

UGH!

But I forged ahead, guessed on a few of the answers and am now waiting on the results.  If somehow, by the grace of Almighty God, I passed that thing, I will try with all my might to use my new found knowledge of mapping on a regular basis.

Or not.

We’ll see.

All this to say that there was not a lot of laughter in my house this week.

Until last night.

There I was, minding my own business, when all of a sudden, the Mr. put on quite a show!

I was laughing so hard I thought I’d fall out in the floor.

Apparently, he decided to move from his recliner to sit beside his oh-so-pleasant wife but he had an issue navigating around the coffee table.

Maybe I need to draw him a topographical map.

I can do that now.

Sort of.

Ok, not at all.

His first mistake, of course, was switching seats in the middle of a show.

I mean, come on.

Is he new here???

It’s the MIDDLE OF A SHOW, for Pete’s sake!!!

I don’t know what he was thinking.

He knows the rules!!

People need to stay in their seats with their mouths firmly closed until a commercial.  And THEN only move or speak if it’s a lame commercial.  To be determined by me, of course.

Thank the Lord for the ability to pause TV because, oh the laughter that ensued after that Mr. jammed his little baby toe into the leg of the coffee table.

I heard it crack.

The toe, not the table leg.

But lest you think I’m completely heartless, it wasn’t the toe cracking I was laughing at but more the Mr.’s reaction.

Oh the reaction!!

He hollered and yelled and rolled around on the couch (in a very NON-baby-like manner, of course) and ended his little tirade with a manly punch to the coffee table.

Taj did NOT care for that bit of drama.

The Mr. kept insisting it was broken and I, though my tears of laughter and with my imagined medical degree, kept insisting that it wasn’t.

I felt sure that all he did was jam it and all that needed to be done was Dr. Mish needed to grab that sucker and yank it back into place.

Well, that idea didn’t get nearly the enthusiastic response that I thought it would.

He finally calmed down and I finally dried my tears and we continued with our TV show.

But every time the Mr. had to get up, he would hobble around and wince in pain while I giggled.

Finally at bedtime, I took a look at his little piggy toe after I promised not to pull on it.

Wow.

It’s bruised.

It may in fact BE broken.

Did I continue to laugh?

No.

Did I apologize for my unbelief?

Heck no…..I grabbed my phone and snapped a picture!!

IMG_20140313_224237

Poor Mr. and his poor little bruised toe!!

{Sorry for the toe picture, Marcus.}

~Mish~

 

2 comments on “Toe Pic!

  • Looks ouchy but thanks so much for posting! I was thinking earlier that one of my sisters needed to post something today. The time between posts seems so long sometimes but it’s always worth it!! Keep ‘em coming!

    ps. I think The Mr. deserves a Frosty for that one!

  • Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 384 other followers

