Mish vs Math

I come from a long line of excellent cooks.  From Memaw to Mom and on down the line to my little brother.  My older sister can taste any dish and tell you what is in it and then replicate it!  Amazing!!!  My brother has no fear in the kitchen and is always trying new things with new ingredients to rave reviews!!  My other sister is also a fantastic cook when she slows down long enough to stay home and actually cook (all except the chicken/porkchop thing…..sorry to bring that up again!). 

And then there’s me!!!!!  I absolutely love the Food Network.  I watch lots of different shows and dream about making all these wonderful dishes for my family.  I don’t actually DO it, mind you, but a girl can dream!!!!  Don’t get me wrong……we’re not starving by any stretch but I’m by no means as gifted as the rest of my family.

What does all this have to do with math, you ask???  Math and I have been bitter enemies since the fourth grade!  To this day my eyes glaze over at the mere mention of numbers!!! 

Which brings us back to the battle waged last night.  Since we’ve been living with my folks the last few months, the one thing we have missed is rice.  My parents rarely eat anything with rice.  The only exception is spanish rice that Mom makes with enchiladas (very yummy!).  So since they are out of town, I fixed one of John’s favorite dishes, Dirty Rice.  Very spicy and very delicious!  Now since I’ve already told you that I’m not much of a cook, you won’t be surprised to learn that I use a Zataran’s mix for the rice & spices.  So I get the hamburger going in the skillet and the box tells me to put 2 1/2 cups of water in a separate pan and bring it to a boil (keep in mind that I’ve made this many, many times!!).  So I pull out a measuring cup to get the water started.  The one I grabbed was a 1/2 cup measure.  I don’t even hesitate to measure out the 2 1/2 cups of water……….after all, I’m not an idiot!  So the water boils, I put in the rice & spices, add the hamburger and set the timer. 

About halfway through the 25 minutes its supposed to cook (don’t ask me how much time that is ’cause I have no idea what half of 25 minutes is!!!  I DON’T DO MATH!)  Anyway, I notice that there is almost no water in the pan and the rice is still a little hard.  I figure, what can it hurt to put in a little more water?  As I’m putting in the extra water I’m wondering why the 2 1/2 cups of water is already gone.  I mean………I used that 1/2 cup three times…………you with me????  Yep………..I only put in 1 1/2 cups of water!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 

I DON’T DO MATH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

All in all, it turned out ok.  I just noticed John adding more hot sauce than usual.  No biggie!!!  He didn’t even notice (or at least wasn’t brave enough to ask me about it!). 

Maybe tonight we’ll order pizza.  Just don’t ask me to figure the tip!

Have a lovely, math-free day!

~Mish~

 

 

3 thoughts on “Mish vs Math

  1. Kenny will LOVE this story! He still gets a chuckle out of “3/8”. I can certainly testify that you and math are NOT close friends. In fact, you’re barely acquaintances.

Leave a Reply

