Guest Post: America Got It Right

Oh-kay, here’s the situation

My sister Mish is on a weekend vacation and

She left the keys to her brand new blog

Would she mind?

Umm, well, of course not

I’ll just take it for a little spin

And maybe show it off to a couple of friends

I’ll just cruise it around the neighborhood

Well, maybe I shouldn’t

Yeah, of course I should

Pay attention, here’s the thick of the plot…

Thought I would start off my guest blog with a little rhyme I wrote with the help of my good friends, DJ Jazzy Jeff and The Fresh Prince.  I have been stressing for the past week about how to write this post.  Surely, if Mish can do it, then I can… I am funnier and smarter, but she is a lot like me!  But what scared me the most is that Izzy is also doing a guest post.  How am I to follow that?  She is prettier than both of us, and smarter too (must get that from her Uncle Marc).  Anyway on to the show… So the other night it hit me what I would like to write about… How America Finally Got It Right!

For years we have watched as young adults and now young teenagers take the stage in the biggest singing competition America has to offer.  There have been some great pop stars, country crooners, and rockers that has paraded, and sometimes pranced, across the stage.  Some have really stood out as individuals and some as powerhouses, but there have been countless that needed to pack their bags and go home.  It never ceases to amaze me when America votes and keeps the people that are pretty, but have horrible voices around for weeks upon weeks.

So there I was… Thursday Night watching the results show praying, hoping, and wishing that America would get it right this week.  I cheered at who was in the bottom three, Hollie Cavanagh, Elise Testone, and DeAndre Brackensick.  There has been one that I haven’t liked since the beginning and every week I would shout at the TV… GO HOME!  Mason, my 4 almost 5 year old, has even started saying it.  So we waited as Ryan said, “Dim the lights!”  And then oh the joy that my heart felt as this Milli Vanilli look-a-like (don’t believe me? Check the pictures below) was told to GO HOME!  I couldn’t believe it… America had got it right and sent DeAndre home.  I was able to go to bed with a smile on my face.

Marc McLean – A.k.a. Best Brother in the World

DeAndre

 

Milli Vanilli
One thought on “Guest Post: America Got It Right

Leave a Reply

