Dream A Little Dream

Last night I woke up about 1:00 am.  I sat up in bed and looked at the clock, which is on the Mr.’s side of the bed.  Of course, in my groggy state, I couldn’t immediately focus on the numbers so I stared at the clock for a second. 

Also, I was calculating how long I had been asleep (2 hours) and how much longer I had until the alarm goes off (5 hours).  Does anyone else do that?  Why do I do that????

Of course, when I say “calculating” I really mean I was counting on my fingers in the dark!  I just didn’t want the Mr. to see me!!!  I DON’T DO MATH!

I think I spooked the Mr. a little in my stare-down of the clock.  It seems he’s always on the alert for a zombie attack so any little thing out of the norm and he’s at full attention!  Plus he’s never quite sure if I’m awake or asleep.  It seems I’m a bit of a sleep talker/walker.

When I was a kid I apparently dreamed of a fishing trip while spending the night with Memaw.  She said I started laughing hysterically in my sleep and said “Look at that preacher with his fishing pole upside down!”  I have no recollection of such a dream but Memaw loved to tell that story and who am I to argue with Memaw????

When I was a teenager, there was another incident with my sister, Marti.  She had been out late babysitting and when she got home, she walked into her bedroom, clicked on the bedside lamp and when she turned around, I was standing directly behind her staring her in the face!  Now that’s scary stuff!!!!!  But she calmly turned me around and walked me back to my bed and I was none the wiser.

I also remember another time waking up in the living room looking out the front window.  I must have been dreaming that someone was out there.  I’m so glad that I woke up and didn’t actually go outside!  What if a bad guy got me????  YIKES!

A few years ago I gave the Mr. quite a fright.  See, we are both scared of spiders.  The Mr. will tell you that he’s not actually “scared” but he won’t kill them for me so in my book, he’s scared!!!  So imagine how the Mr. felt when, during the night, I calmly announced that there was a spider in our bed!!!!

Next thing I know, the lights are on and the Mr. is pulling blankets off the bed as quick as you please!!!  I asked him what he was doing and he told me that I said there was a spider in the bed.  I had no idea what he was talking about!!  I went right back to sleep but I think the Mr. laid awake the rest of the night!  Poor guy!

Until next time, sweet dreams!

~Mish~

Leave a Reply

