Ten Years And Counting

Friday was our 10th wedding anniversary.

Can you believe it? 

TEN YEARS!!

And we both lived to tell about it!

Amazing!

Ten years ago we got married at my parent’s farm in Shelby County and then went to Pigeon Forge, TN for our honeymoon.  I had been to Pigeon Forge many times but it was a first for the Mr.

We had spent hours looking at various cabins rentals online, he in NY and I in KY, until we finally agreed on a cabin called A Smoky Mountain Rose.  Sounds romantic, right?

We actually got hitched at around 11:00 in the morning (who wants to go all day without seeing each other???  Not us!) so we left in the late afternoon for the drive down to TN. 

I explained to the Mr. that those mountain roads would be very narrow and curvy and I strongly suggested that we stop and eat some supper before we head up the mountain. 

But the Mr. said let’s just keep on going and so we did.

As we got closer I again stressed that we should stop and eat or else we wouldn’t want to come back down the mountain in the dark but no way…..keep on going!!

Now for those who know me, you know that when I say I “suggested” or “stressed” to the Mr. that what I actually was doing was NAGGING!!!

Yes, it’s true.  Within hours of tying the knot, I was already nagging my new husband.  But not only nagging, I was full out whining and complaining and griping!!

It was not pretty.  Not pretty at all.

So with me pouting in the first seat, we finally make it up to the top of this mountain and its getting dark fast.  We decide to go in and look around before carrying in our bags so we walk to the door of our cabin with me grumbling not so under my breath about the fact that we’re starving and now we have to go back down the mountain in the dark.

Then the Mr. opens the door.

There in the dining area is the most beautifully set table with candles and flowers and sparkling grape juice on ice.  Lovely!

That tricky Mr. had arranged for a nice meal to be at the cabin for us on our first night as husband and shrew…….I mean wife!!!

Isn’t he just the cutest????

And there is his new bride feeling about as low as you can get!! 

But we had a lovely meal and the Mr., being the awesome man that he is, forgave me my trespasses; though he has shared this story many, MANY  times over the last 10 years.   I don’t come out lookin’ so good in this tale!!!

Oh well.  I gotta be me, I reckon!

~Mish~

Leave a Reply

