A Lesson For Us All

There’s one thing you must know about the Mr.

He doesn’t like to be interrupted.

Not by me.

Not by the kids.

And certainly not by the dog!!

One night a while back we were having supper and he was telling me about something important from work.  I think it was something about his contract which is also very important to me as it directly effects my shopping/eating.

There’s one thing you must know about Taj.

He doesn’t like when we linger at the table.

Not even if the eating is done.

Not even if we’re finishing the last of an episode of Seinfeld that we’ve only seen 50 times.

Not for nothin’!!

And he will let you know that he’s upset.

He’s got a little dog kinda bark to start with but when he’s ticked off, his bark goes up about 3 octaves and it will bring you right up out of your chair.

We love it.

Yeah, whatever!

Anyway, as the Mr. is telling me his story, Taj starts with the barking.  I gave him some scraps to try to keep him quiet.  But he kept it up.

I know……….it’s the giving of the scraps that got the whole barking thing started.  But that’s an issue for another day.

The Mr. looks at him and tells him to be quiet and continues his story.

Bark!

The Mr. tells Taj to stop barking (that’s the nice version) and continues.

Bark! Bark!

I reach down to pet the dog hoping to keep him quiet but I’m informed that my babying is part of the problem.

Me?  Baby the dog??  Are you kidding???

So the story continues.

BARK!!  BARK!!!! (<–that’s the sharp one!)

The Mr. has HAD it!!!

I know you all think the Mr. is just a mild mannered man, and he usually is, but enough is a dag-gone ’nuff!!!  He yells at Taj to shut it while I look away so that I’m not accused of babying him.  As if!!!

The next part I didn’t see because, as I said, my head was turned.

The house is dead quiet.

Not a peep could be heard.

All of a sudden I  hear the Mr. say………

“Don’t you be eye-ballin’ me boy!!”

And that’s when I lost it!!!!

I tried to do my Mom’s laugh.

You know the one……no sound but shoulders shaking violently.

Mom uses that one in church!

Sorry Mom!!  🙂

Then, afraid I would pop a gizzard holding it in, I just let it go and had a big ole laughing spell!!!  The Mr. joined in and then it was a free for all!!!  Laughing and barking and general mayhem!!!!

So let that be a lesson to you.

1.  The Mr. and I are suckers for a laugh; and,

b.  Do NOT, under any circumstance,  eye-ball the Mr.!!!!!

~Mish~

 

 

One thought on “A Lesson For Us All

Leave a Reply

