Splish Splash

I love to swim.

Not that I can actually swim, mind you, but I like splashing around in the water.  I shouldn’t say that I can’t swim, it’s just not very pretty.  But I think I could swim enough to save myself if need be.  Hopefully, I’ll never have to put that to the test!!!

When I was a kid my brother and I would BEG Dad to get a pool.  But oh no!  That’s not going to happen!!!  He usually said it was because it was too much work and even though we ASSURED him we would do the work, somehow he never believed us.

Imagine that!!!

And we very rarely got to go to the public pool.  It cost 50 cents to get in and, heavenly day, we couldn’t afford that!!!  But occasionally I got to go with my cousins.  Of course, all they wanted to do was “lay out” but this pale girl could do that at home!!  I wanted to SWIM!!!

Side note:  I’m still as pale as can be and my cousins?  Tan!  It’s sad!!

When I was in college, I dated a guy who was a lifeguard and who was totally astonished by my swimming prowess.  Actually he couldn’t believe that with all my thrashing around I hadn’t managed to drown!

Whatever!!

Be he did teach me how to jump off a diving board and get myself over to the side in deep water.

Then much to my surprise I not only married a guy whose parent’s had a pool but the Mr. doesn’t have a problem with maintaining a pool.  It’s no biggie.

YAY!!!

All my dreams were coming true!!!

I have simple dreams, folks.

We spent the first 5-6 years of our married life in that pool with the kids and just had a blast.   The bad part is that the swimming pool season in NY starts around July 4 (if your lucky) and ends at Labor Day.  So basically, unless you have a pool  heater, you may get 6-8 weeks of swimming fun.

So now that we’ve moved to the oven that is Kentucky, I’m in full beg mode to get a pool.

Maybe next year.

Or the year after that.

Or the year after that.

I’ll keep you posted.

But never fear.

I’m sure you are feared about my pool situation, right?!?!?!?!?!

I don’t need a swimming pool to get my swim on!

All I need is a tub of water.

 

What I want to know is, who sneaked in and took these pictures of me?????

~Mish~

 

7 thoughts on “Splish Splash

  1. This makes me laugh because those pictures could ACTUALLY be YOU! At least what I imagine goes on in there!!! I’ve never seen it myself (thank you, God) but all the splashing I’ve heard outside your bathroom door, I can just guess this is EXACTLY what you’re doing in there….for HOURS!!! Swimming in your own filth…will NEVER understand it!!!

  2. Just had a flashback to your “laying out” days. It took you longer to get all your paraphernalia together (drink, book, boom box, etc.) than you were ACTUALLY out there! “I’m burning up…I’m dying, here…this is ridiculous…I’m going in!!!”

Leave a Reply

