The Misadventures of the Mr. and the Mish – Part 2

Being a Southern girl, I had to adapt to a few things in the North that were tough for me but one of the hardest was the Shoe Pile.

Aw……..the Shoe Pile!

For those who have no earthly idea what I’m talking about, it’s a big ole pile of shoes found just inside the door of any home in Western New York.  This is a photo I found online that clearly illustrates the Shoe Pile.  I’m not sure whose shoe’s these are but, please, take a moment to gaze upon the shoes of complete strangers:

shoes at door

Now, I’m not criticizing the Shoe Pile.

I completely understand the purpose of the Shoe Pile but it was a struggle for me.  I don’t know how many times I’ve tripped over someone’s big ole sneakers and how many times I’ve kicked those sneakers across the room!!!  I apparently have the patience of my Dad in those situations!!

But while I lived in the Frozen Tundra, I wholeheartedly embraced the Shoe Pile in my own home.

Well, not literally.

Why would I want to hug a pile of smelly shoes???

The Shoe Pile is a very important part of life in the Great White North.  But not just in the winter.  Oh no, most people continue the Shoe Pile all year long.  And, really, why not?  There’s no need to change your habits for those 2 weeks of summer!  🙂

One Christmas, we were going to my in-law’s to celebrate the birth of our Lord with the Mr.’s family and I decided to make a meat and cheese tray for snacking.  I mean, nothing says “Welcome Christ-Child” like a good summer sausage!!

So I get several kinds of cheese, some pepperoni (the log kind, not the pre-cut!  I am nothing if not gourmet!), the summer sausage and some olives.  It took me a bit longer to cut it all up than I thought so we were running a little late and I was running a little frazzled!!!

Of course, it doesn’t help matters that it’s colder than……..than……….well, than whatever is really cold……….I can’t think of anything!!   It was COLD!!!  Plus snowy.  After all, what’s cold without snowy???

We pull up to my in-law’s house and the kind Mr. takes my tray of meat & cheese & olives so that I could waddle into the house in my snow boots and Gore Tex coat!!

By the time I get to the door, it had already happened.

There stood the Mr. just inside the door looking down at a pile of shoes drowning in summer sausage and cheese cubes!!!!

Man, you should have seen the look on that poor Mr.’s face.

So I did the only thing a frazzled girl could do in that situation.

I cried.

I don’t know why.

I’m just a girl, I guess.

Needless to say, all that good cheese, pepperoni & summer sausage went right in the trash.

I just feel sorry for whoever found the olives in the toe of their shoe!  🙂

~Mish~

One thought on “The Misadventures of the Mr. and the Mish – Part 2

  1. I did say at the time that “one day we will laugh about this but not today….”. It was defective tulperware….

Leave a Reply

