That’s Just Good Parenting

I remember when my little brother was born.

I was  9.

The day Mom brought him home from the hospital was a pretty cool day.  We got home from school and David Hutcherson was there with a dead deer in the back of his truck (awesome).  We went in the house and there was Mom and Marcus (not as awesome as the dead deer but still pretty good.  Sorry, Marc, I was NINE!)

Of course, I was rockin a pale blue leisure suit so anything after that was just gravy!  😉

After we all got a chance to hold the baby, Mom decided it was time for a diaper change.  She laid him down and looked each of us girls in the eye and said, “Now, girls, boys are different than girls”.

Really?!?!?!?! 

You don’t say?!?!?!?!

{At 9, I thought I was so wise. }

I didn’t realize at the time that my mother was speaking profound truth and I have thought back to this day many times over the years.

But boys aren’t just different.

They’re weird!!

They can’t help it.

They just are.

And mischievous too.

None more so than the Mr.

Yes, that quiet Mr. was indeed a rabble-rouser in his youth!

Now, I didn’t know him back then but from stories I’ve heard, it’s a wonder that his mother didn’t paddle his behind every ding-dong day!!

I’m sure he deserved it.

One day, though, she had had enough!!

Apparently, the Mr. (she didn’t call him that) was riding in the backseat of the car and was acting up pretty badly which doesn’t surprise me in the least!!  He still acts up from time to time.

Anyway, my sweet mother-in-law, who wouldn’t hurt a flea, decided to take a swipe at him from the driver’s seat.

Without looking.

SMACK.

Gave the kid a bloody nose!!!

The Mr. has never let her forget this day but whenever I hear the story, I can’t help but root for his mom!!  I mean, I’ve been tempted to pop him in the nose myself but since I know he’s a bleeder, I have refrained.  🙂

The Mr.’s mom (her right name is Barb) is having a birthday this week.

So happy birthday, Barb; this one’s for you:

parenting

 

~Mish~

Leave a Reply

