Signs & Wonders

church

This morning I got an e-mail from my brother with the subject “Church Ladies with Typewriters”.  It was a list of some funny mistakes found in church bulletins.

Some of these I had seen before but some were new.  Here are a few that I thought were chuckle-worthy:

The Fasting & Prayer Conference includes meals.

Ladies, don’t forget the rummage sale. It’s a chance to get rid of those things not worth keeping around the house. Bring your husbands.

The ladies of the Church have cast off clothing of every kind. They may be seen in the basement on Friday afternoon.

This evening at 7PM there will be a hymn singing in the park across from the Church. Bring a blanket and come prepared to sin.

The Associate Minister unveiled the church’s new campaign slogan last Sunday: ‘I Upped My Pledge – Up Yours.

 

Since my parents are printers (not printers like a laser printer but they OWN a print shop……and they print stuff……sometimes on a laser printer…….what was I talking about?????)

Oh yeah, my sibs and I have learned to watch for typos and since my dad is a McLean (there’s no other way to explain it) we’ve learned to pick up on the weird things people say.  For instance, when the paper delivery would arrive at the shop, someone would call out “Paper truck is here” to which someone in my family (usually Dad) would respond, “There’s no such thing as a paper truck”.

Get it???

Paper truck.

A truck made of paper.

I know.

We’re weird.

It drives the Mr. crazy.

Anyway, the church I grew up in had a sign at the road and every few weeks, someone would change the message on it.  Sometimes it was inspirational, sometimes informative and sometimes very clever.  One Sunday morning we pulled into the church lot and my sister, Molly, saw the sign.

“Our good friends”???

What about “our good friends”???

We all looked at the sign.

“Molly, it says “Our God Reigns”!!!

Needless to say, the chick needed glasses.

And we’ve never let her forget that day.

Every so often we would sing “Our God Reigns” at church.

Of course, not our row.

Our row was too busy nudging each other and giggling!

In a very worshipful way, of course.  🙂

~Mish~

 

 

8 thoughts on “Signs & Wonders

      • Ya better watch out, Shinee Rinee, you’ve been known to do a few ditzo things in your day…she’ll getcha one of these days!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

