Family Ties

family tree

Yesterday I was gifted with some old family pictures.

My current boss has been a friend of my family since before I was born.  In fact, Patsy was at the old King’s Daughters Hospital the day I was born many, MANY years ago.

So when she told me she had found some pictures and was giving them to me, I was so excited.

I love old pictures.

And I love my old family.  🙂

Now I had seen these pictures before but now I have my very own copies and I thought I’d share them with you.

IMG_20130513_142316

This is a picture of Dad’s parents, Ira and Vera McLean (better known as Mawmaw and Pawpaw).  The picture was taken, I believe, at my parent’s wedding almost 50 years ago.

And here is one of Mom’s family.  I’m not sure what year this was taken but since Mom’s not in it, I am assuming it was right after she got married.

IMG_20130513_142525

That’s Me-maw and Pe-paw (aka Cleora and Ernest Cannada) and those are Mom’s brothers, Ricky and Roger.

Now, this picture was an extra treat.

IMG_20130513_142812

This is my Uncle Walter and Aunt Christine and their two daughters, Debbie and Patty Jo.

That Uncle Walter was quite a hoot.

All of my dad’s brothers are pretty funny and love to pick on and tease each other and really anybody else they are around.  I’m so thankful for their sense of humor that they so generously passed on to most of their offspring.

I can remember one time being at Mawmaw and Pawpaw’s house and when it was time to go, I was told to put on my socks and shoes.  I sat down in the floor and started to put my socks on.  Uncle Walter said “Your putting that sock on the wrong foot” so I jerked it off and started putting it on the other foot.  He said “No, that’s still the wrong foot”.  So off that sock came again as I switched feet.

I’d love to tell you that I caught on to the joke and that was the end of it but truth be told it went on and on with me putting the sock on and Uncle Walter “helping” me by telling me I was wrong.

It’s funny today but at the time it was very frustrating!!!

Uncle Walter got the biggest kick out of that!!

He’s been gone for a few years now and I sure do miss him.

And now for the most confusing part of my family………..Roger and Debbie.

 

RogerDebbie

Roger (my uncle) married Debbie (my cousin)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Confused yet????

I know!

This sounds like a crazy Southern thing where the family tree only has one branch, but let me assure you that it’s all legit and we have a somewhat normal family tree.

Actually the tree is normal, the family not so much.

Roger is Mom’s brother and Debbie is Dad’s niece (Uncle Walter’s daughter) so they are in no way blood relations.  But it makes Roger my uncle AND my cousin and Debbie is my cousin AND my aunt.

And their kids (Bryan and Shauna) are our first AND second cousins!

I won’t even begin to try to figure out what Bryan and Shauna’s kids are.

Second, third AND fourth???

So that’s my crazy family.

Please tell me yours is just as crazy!!!

~Mish~

2 thoughts on “Family Ties

  1. Thanks for the “shout out” Marsha!! Those are some really neat pictures! I don’t think I’ve seen any of them before. My how young Pepaw looked. Wished they all were still around. Brought tears to my eyes! HA!

    But on a happier note…You have some really cool first and second cousins! Just sayin!!

Leave a Reply

