Summer Sickness

I’ve got the sickness.

No, I’m not actually sick of summer.

Not yet.

But I’ve got something.

Yesterday the Mr. was feeling puny and today it’s hit me hard.

I thought maybe it was the Summer Flu because I feel achy and headache-ish and generally yucky.

I’m also more drained than usual.  I just can’t seem to get enough sleep.

Last night we went to bed while it was still light outside and aside from a trip to the bathroom around 4:15 which resulted in a “splash” (thanks, Mr. for leaving the seat up!!), I slept really good.

But I feel like I didn’t get one bit of rest.

During the week, my alarm goes off at 6:00 am and the Mr. gets to sleep until 6:20 am.  That’s 20 minutes of bed-to-himself-no-Mish-or-Taj time that I don’t get.

Not that I’m jealous or anything!!

Now Taj is not a super cuddly dog.  He likes his space (like his mom!) but in the morning, he’s all about the snuggle.  He will stretch and nestle against me and yawn and lick and just be a sweet little doggie.  I love it!!

The Mr. does NOT!

I learned the hard way that he doesn’t appreciate the mommy-doggie time during his 20 minutes of extra sleep.

So I’ve taken to getting on the floor next to Taj’s bed for snuggle time.

IMG_20130710_132332

It works out pretty good.

Until today.

When the alarm went off this morning, I stumbled over and turned it off then got right on the floor and rested my head on Taj’s bed.  I rubbed his tummy and scratched his ears and he stretched and tried to lick me to death.

Then the alarm went off.

The Mr.’s alarm.

It was 6:20.

I had fallen asleep in the dog bed!!!

Taj was laying across the room so no telling how long I had been asleep.

I don’t know much in this life but I do know that if you fall asleep laying in a dog bed, your pretty darn tired!!!

What could be causing this kind of fatigue?

I checked the internet for symptoms of Summer Flu.  I had heard that it was going around town though I didn’t even know it was a thing.  I figured it was the same as a Winter Flu but it’s not.  Not even close.

The Summer Flu is gastrointestinal.

Scratch that.

Not the Summer Flu.

Then what could it be???

Could it be that the Mr. and I have been working so much out in the yard in the hotter-than-hades-heat that my old body has just said ENOUGH!?!?!?!?!

Well, that couldn’t possibly be it!!

Then I stumbled on the answer.

Actually the Mr. sent me this information yesterday when he was feeling sick and after looking at the symptoms, I’m positive this is what I’ve got.

The symptoms of a mild case are:

  • Fever
  • Headache
  • Body aches
  • Fatigue
  • Back pain
  • Skin rash (occasionally)
  • Swollen lymph glands (occasionally)
  • Eye pain (occasionally)

HELLO!!!

I’ve got most of that!!!

I’ve even got one of the symptoms of the serious case….a stiff neck!!!

Even though the CDC shows absolutely no reported cases in Kentucky, I’ve got it.

WNV Map

West Nile!!!

Stupid mosquitoes.

~Mish~

 

Leave a Reply

