Great Expectations

A lady came into the office today.

A lady from my past.

A lady from my way long ago past.

A lady who scares the stuffing out of me.

My 9th grade English teacher.

This woman frightened me from the first day of class until the final bell rang on the last day of the school year.

And funnily enough, whenever I see her, those same feelings come back as if I was still that 15-year-old girl.

It’s like I’m afraid she’ll make me read “Great Expectations” again.

Now that’s a scary prospect!!!!

{Ok…..”again” may have been the wrong word.}

{Also “read” may have been misused as well.  I should probably have said “watch the movie”}

{Ok, ok……….maybe I should have said ATTEMPTED to watch the movie.  Have you ever tried to watch this movie????  Snooze-fest!!}

{David, do you remember that?  You tried to watch it with me!!}

So I did the only thing I could do.

I started getting up from my desk at a snails pace.

I mean I was so stinkin’ slow you couldn’t even tell if I was moving or not.

And sure enough, Doug got up before me; though truth be told he didn’t pop up too quick either.  I think she was his teacher as wll!!

So with one ear on their conversation I quickly realized that I made the right choice in not going up to the counter.

On and on she goes.

And Doug, to his credit, stays right with her.

She is truly a fountain of knowledge.  She even talked about some property that had been given to slaves when they were first freed.

And do you know how she knows this???

CAUSE SHE WAS THERE!!!!!

Bless her heart.

I shouldn’t be so hard on her.

I understand that she’s a very pleasant woman and is still of very sound mind, even at the ripe old age of 162.

And that is really quite a feat considering how many times she’s had to teach “Great Expectations” to a group of 15-year-olds. 😉

~Mish~

 

One thought on “Great Expectations

  1. Funny! Who was your 9th grade English teacher? I can’t remember but I do remember how much you hated that book (I mean, movie)!

Leave a Reply

