Death, Taxes & Light-up Balls

I think the Mr. is trying to kill me.

Not actually kill me because then who would do the laundry??

No, he’s trying to kill me with yard work.

The weather last weekend and the beginning of this week was just perfection.  Not too hot but sunny and beautiful.  Perfect for finally moving all that pool dirt around.

And by pool dirt I mean the dirt that was dug up to install the pool, not dirt that was IN the pool because, oh my, does the Mr. keep that pool spotless.

I mean, woe be unto the leaf that dares fall into OUR pool!!!!

You wouldn’t think that shoveling a bit of dirt would be so hard and if you’re the Mr., it’s really not. 

But if you’re the Mish……….OH YES, THE AGONY!!

Of course, it doesn’t help that the Mr. gave me the old heavy shovel that I can barely lift, even with no dirt on it.  But I’ve learned that if I whine just a little bit, he moves me off shoveling duty to the more tolerable sprinkling of grass seed.

Then comes the watering of said grass seed which seems easy enough but, alas, I needed “instruction” on that task as well.

Thankfully, the Lord above heard my prayers of distress and sent showers of blessing on Wednesday and Thursday! 

HALLELUJAH!

But the Mr. has big plans for the weekend to get the last of the dirt moved and seeded.  I just hope it’s not too cold for the seeds to take root because, heavenly day, I don’t want to have to do this again in the spring!!

This week was also property tax week in our neck of the woods.

Yep, tax bills came out over the weekend and boy are folks mad!

So what do you do when you’re mad about your taxes???

Why, you call the girl at the tax assessor’s office who, by the way, had NOTHING to do with your assessment OR the tax rate and you cuss her right out!

Right. Out.

And you know what that girl could do for these angry taxpayers??

Big lot of nuthin’!

That poor, poor girl!

But never fear………..she had fun-filled evenings of dirt moving with her beloved to look forward to!

And that brings us to the Taj.

The other night the Mr. and I were watching TV and trying to not think about cussers and dirt when we heard Taj diggin around in his toy bag.

He dug and he dug and he scratched and he scratched but whatever he was looking for could not be found.

The Mr. moved the bag to the middle of the floor and I helped Taj empty out the bag.

He sniffed and sniffed and sniffed and sniffed but couldn’t find what he was looking for.

Then he found this red ball that he’s had forever but has never played with.  But all of a sudden THAT WAS THE TOY!!

He tossed it around and pushed it with his nose and pranced around with this ball.  I’ve never seen him have so much fun with a ball.  He loved it.

Then he pushed it into the fireplace.

It bounced back at him.

He did it again but this time it didn’t come back to him.

So what’s a cute little doggie to do???

Why, stand and bark at it, of course!

Finally I crawled over and reached in to grab it to find that it’s now covered in dog spit and fireplace soot.

So I take it into the kitchen to clean it off and when I do, it starts blinking like crazy and a weird siren starts going off.

What in this world?????

Well, Taj LOVED this new feature!

He played and played with this ball and then all of a sudden…..he was done.

Enough.

In the words of Me-maw, “I’ll not have that”.

And he pushed it against the wall and laid down for a nap.

So all was quiet as I tried to concentrate on Survivor when out of the blue that silly ball started blinking and wailing again!

Well, Taj didn’t like this too much and neither did his mom!

He picked it up and slammed it into the wall and it stopped.

Again, we went back to our peaceful, restful night; and once again that crazy ball went bizerko!

By this point Taj was ticked right off and just looked at me as if to say “will you get that?”.

So I tried to find an off switch.

They ain’t none!!!

Next I tried to wrap it in a towel.

Nope……..can still hear it!

Finally I taped up the “sound holes” with Scotch tape, wrapped it in TWO towels and stuffed it in a bag in the closet of the Mr.’s office.

Ah…………the sound of silence!!

Weirdly, the next day we got it out for Taj to play with, and it won’t light up and it won’t make a sound.

Which is ok, I guess, ‘cause Taj is totally over it!

Oh well, wonder what next week will bring????

~Mish~

 

Leave a Reply

