Sick Day Essentials

I did kind of a crazy thing.

I think I may have accepted a challenge I didn’t want to accept.

I got a text from Molly yesterday to do 7 blog posts in 7 days.

I laughed.

Then this morning I read another blog extending the same 7 day challenge.

I guess this must be a thing.

So…..challenge accepted!!!

Unfortunately for all of you, these 7 blog posts will surely be fascinating and riveting accounts of the life of the Mr. and the Mish.

Lucky ya’ll.  🙂

I’ll start Day 1 with this past Friday.

I’ve had sickness.

I mean SICKNESS!!!

sick_girl

I really and truly wish spring would hurry up but for Pete’s sake, leave my sinuses alone!!!

While living in exile in NY I had forgotten all the stuffy, drippy, sore-throaty goodness that comes from a KY existence.

So by Thursday evening, I felt like I had fire ants running up and down my throat.

It was ouchy to the max!!

By the time my alarm went off on Friday those ants had multiplied like rabbits (fire rabbits that is!) and I had a slight fever.

Now fevers are a tricky thing.

I don’t usually run a fever even though I sometimes feel fever-ish.  And my fever on Friday would never pass the “Mom Test”.

See, when I was a kid, the ONLY way we could stay home from school was if we had a fever.

It didn’t matter that we vomited.

She’d say “Now you’ll feel better.  Go to school.”

It didn’t matter that we passed out cold in the shower.

She’d say “You’re conscious now.  Go to school.”

And I’m sure that even with a fever she’d try to send us to school but she knew that if the school nurse got wind of the fever, she’d be called to come get us in the middle of the day.

She did NOT like the mid-day-pick-up!

I remember once that happened when I was in either kindergarten or first grade.  I came down with a mysterious sickness during the late morning.  Mom came to get me and when we got home she gave me a half a honey and white bread sandwich.

Yes, that’s right.

Honey and white bread.

Is there really any doubt as to my struggle with weight?????

Anywho, after eating my sandwich I experienced a miraculous recovery.

So back to school I went!

Along with a threat to never try that trick again!!

It wasn’t a trick.

I was hungry, apparently.

But since Mom wasn’t at my house on Friday morning and I didn’t have any white bread for a honey sandwich, I made the executive decision to stay home.

While I laid on my deathbed, I came up with a few essentials for when you’re home sick:

  1.  A couch-bed.  All you need for this is some clean, crisp sheets and a big ole blanket to make the ultimate bed on the living room couch.  And what husband doesn’t love walking into his house after a long day to find his sickly, pale wife lying on the couch under a pile of crumpled Kleenex with another Kleenex shoved up her nose to catch the drips from her stuffier-than-stuffed sinuses.  Very attractive.
  2. A burn-y Diet Coke.  Now you all know I’m a Mt. Dew lover but when I’m sick, especially with a sore throat, all I need is a Diet Coke that burns on the way down!  The best place to get one is McDonald’s.  I’m not sure why theirs burns so good but you can’t beat it. And I’m told it’s the same with regular Coke; though I’d rather drink dirty dishwater than a regular Coke. The added advantage of a burn-y Diet Coke is that all the built up sinus gunk in your throat gets melted away.  You know it’s working by the burn!
  3. A bendy straw.  I don’t think I really need to explain this one.  Bendy straws are just awesome!  But be sure not to confuse a bendy straw with a crazy straw.  Crazy straws are strictly for the healthy; they are way too exciting for the infirm.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have any bendy straws on Friday, which probably added a whole other day to my recovery.  Oh well.  I’ll stock up on my next shopping trip.
  4. A Frosty.  This is perhaps the most important item on the list.  As I’ve told you before, on the rare occasion that we stayed home from school, Me-maw would come by at lunch and bring us a Frosty.  I’m not sure the medical community has caught up to her cure for what ails you, but a Frosty will make you feel better way before cough medicine & Tylenol.

And to make sure that I got better as quick as possible, that wonderful Mr. brought me a Frosty when he came home from work.

He even bought himself one as preventive medicine.

He’s good like that!

See ya’ll tomorrow (I hope!).

~Mish~

 

One thought on “Sick Day Essentials

Leave a Reply

