These Boots Were Made for Walkin’

The Mr. and I have been busy as can be.

And ya’ll……..I’ve got so much to tell you about!!!

From target practice to Comic Con to giant stinkers, I’m not really sure where to start.

Ok.

I’ll start with this past weekend.

Way back in the olden days of March, Molly posted on Facebook that she was going to put together a team for the MS Walk.

Now, first of all, let me just say that this isn’t the first time Facebook has gotten me in trouble!!

Nor will it be the last, I’m sure.

But in those chilly early-March days, I was young and naive and May 31 seemed oh so far off. I just KNEW that by the time the Walk actually took place, I would be miraculously thin and in shape.

I was so sure of this that I even bragged to my cardiologist that I was participating in the Walk.

Well, really I just told him because when he got to the question of exercise and I had to confess that my regimen was, for all intents and purposes, non-existent, I felt like this would make up for my winter laziness.

That sprang from my fall laziness.

That came after my summer laziness.

You get the picture.

It’s a whole laziness circle!

Anyway, what I wasn’t counting on was Dr. Monin being so impressed that he WROTE IT IN MY CHART!!!!

Oh my lands!!!

You all know what that means, right????

He’s gonna ask me about it at my next appointment!!!

YIKES!

But in all seriousness, the reason Molly put together the team and the reason I signed up was because of our good friend, Mark Jackson, who has been diagnosed with MS.

team jackson

So a big group of friends and family joined Team Jackson and this past Saturday we met up at the MS Walk.

group

Some were pumped.

Me?

Not so much.

I had worried and fretted and worried some more.

Why was I so apprehensive?

I HAD been preparing for this Walk, hadn’t I?

I mean, with over 2 months to get off the couch, I had SURELY been walking every day so as to be ready.

Right?

Right?!?!?!?!?

WRONG!!!!!!

We met up with the team on a beautifully warm and sunny day with absolutely no preparation and no hope that I could do it.

But that awesome Mr. just encouraged me and told me he would walk by my side and take breaks whenever I needed them.

That’s sweet just on the face of it but considering that I’m a super slow walker in normal circumstances and have also been known to complain a bit when in uncomfortable situations, that just may earn the Mr. another star in his crown on judgment day!!

Let me say that not only did I walk the WHOLE WAY, but I did it without complaining, I only sat down 1 time and, most importantly, I WASN’T LAST!!!

I’d say that was quite the accomplishment!!

Now I’m sure you’re saying to yourself “My, that Mish is so impressive”.

And you’re right.

It is very impressive.

But I must confess that my big long walk was really just 3 miles.

And while most people could do that in their sleep, I think it was pretty remarkable for a middle-aged, overweight woman with a heart condition!!

Because did you catch that part about not being last???????

I was NOT last!!!

That’s the best part!

And even though I’m still limping along with a big ole blister on my foot and shin splints that scream every time I take a step, I’m glad I did it.

Because at the end of the day, helping in even a small way to find a cure for MS is so worth it!

And so is standing (or walking) with this guy:

Jackson

Love you, Old Man Jackson!!

~Mish~

 

Leave a Reply

