A Bird in the Hand

waffle-house

The Mr. loves breakfast.

No matter what time of the day he wakes up, be it early morning or noontime, he prefers to start with breakfast.

And he’s an egg man from way back.

The dude loves him some scrambled eggs.

But now, once he’s had breakfast, he doesn’t want it again that day.

Never for supper.

Ever.

Now, I, on the other hand, only really like breakfast at night.

For supper.

The mere thought of eggs in the morning just gags me!!

We are quite the match, huh?!?!?!

You can imagine the delight the Mr. experienced when I first introduced him to the Waffle House.

Yes, I introduced him to Waffle House because there is not one Waffle House to be found in the Great White North.

Can you believe that????

Do those Yankees have any idea what they are missing???

Apparently not!

Now, I know, it takes a certain amount of sophistication to regularly dine at a Waffle House. But the Mr. and I have just that kind of refinement! We fit right on in!

When we moved to KY four years ago, the Mr. was super excited that there was an actual Waffle House in our town. So not long after we got settled in, we popped on over to check it out and have some delicious food.

Now the beauty of the Waffle House is that you can have EITHER breakfast or lunch any time of the day.

But I must say, if you’re the least little bit picky about things like cleanliness and the such, you’re better off to go around 2:30-3:00 in the morning. The place looks a lot classier at that time of night.

Either that or your just too dang tired to care.

Whatevs.

Well, way back then, our local Waffle House was……how do I say………..NASTY!!!

And the Mr. vowed he would never go back!

And he didn’t.

At least not to the Frankfort Waffle House.

Oh, we’ve eaten at the ones in Georgetown and Lexington on numerous occasions.

The man just can’t pass up a Waffle House.

Well, a couple of weeks ago, I convinced the Mr. to give our Waffle House another try.

After all, a lot can change in four years.

Plus I didn’t want to wait for a table at Cracker Barrel because we MUST have breakfast!!! 🙂

And I’m glad to report that things had greatly improved!!! We were tickled.

{Sad that we are so easily pleased.}

So this weekend, we decided to give it another go.

I especially wanted Waffle House because GRITS!

I’m a grit girl!

I don’t know how you like your grits but the very best way to eat them, in MY opinion, is lots of salt, pepper, butter and crumbled BACON!!!

Soooo yummy!!

And so we find ourselves at a little booth by the window, eating our delicious food and enjoying the day when BOOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Something hits the window above our booth.

Then what looks like a wad of brown paper towels falls on my hands and bounces onto the floor.

What could it be????

Who is throwing wet paper towels at us????

I look down.

That ain’t no wad of paper towels.

THAT’S A BIRD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

A BIRD!!!!!!!!!!!

A BIRD HIT MY HANDS!!!!!!!!!!!

WHILE I’M EATING!!!!!!!!!!

INSIDE!!!!!!!!!!!!

AT THE WAFFLE HOUSE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Are you feeling my stress here???

Do you get how troubling this was????

I mean………….a BIRD…………INSIDE………..

TOUCHED ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Praise be unto the Lord, though, that I didn’t immediately start to gag, as I’m known to do.

But I did leave that poor Mr. sitting all alone while I went into the bathroom and scalded my hands with hot water and scrubbed with steel wool to get those bird germs off me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I will give credit to the Waffle House though.

By the time I got back from the bathroom, holding my clean hands up like a surgeon walking into the OR, they had scooped up that dead bird and took it out. And we also got a free breakfast out of the deal.

Sadly, there sat my bowl of grits with perfectly crumbled bacon on that avian contaminated table!!

So when the waitress asked if we wanted any additional food to go, that polite Mr. said “No, thank you”  but his grit-loving wife said SURE!!

I’ll have grits, bacon and a Diet Coke!! 🙂

Wasn’t the same.

~Mish~

Leave a Reply

